TMP Board Chair Honored with National Excellence in Mentoring Award

Anne Naqi, TMP Board Chairperson, was recognized by MENTOR with a 2023 Excellence in Mentoring Award. Excellence in Mentoring award recipients represent the breadth and depth of the mentoring movement and the power of mentoring relationships to support, inspire and engage young people.

Naqi, Vice President & Chief Human Resources Officer at Equitrans Midstream Corporation, has served on the Board of Directors of The Mentoring Partnership since 2017.  During this time, she has served as the Magic of Mentoring event chair, on the Executive Committee and, most recently, as the Board Chairperson.  Prior to her time at Equitrans, she held human resources leadership roles at Westinghouse Electric Company, United States Steel Corporation and EQT Corporation. She is a past board member of the Fund for Advancement of Minorities through Education (FAME) and the Sewickley Valley YMCA.

Naqi is being recognized with the Impactful Philanthropy Award, which highlights a foundation, company or individual philanthropist who has invested time and funds into mentoring initiatives across the nation and in their own communities. Her support for mentorship began early in her career when she joined the leadership team of EQT’s ASPIRE mentoring program, which, at the time, was struggling due to lack of mentor and board member interest. ASPIRE, which is now supported through the Equitrans Midstream Foundation, is a mentoring program that pairs local students with company employees who serve as mentors.

During an eleven-year period, Naqi revitalized the program by spearheading company financial support and mentor recruitment efforts and guided ASPIRE to become an affiliate of the organization’s charitable Foundation. When nominating Naqi for the Excellence in Mentoring Award, Colleen Fedor, TMP Executive Director, wrote, “Anne Naqi is an exceptional supporter of mentoring. Anne's commitment to the ASPIRE program directly impacts hundreds of young people, and she has been instrumental in the program’s sustainability.” Under her leadership as ASPIRE President, more than 165 students have come through the ASPIRE program and 51 students have received $10,000 scholarships.

This year’s Excellence in Mentoring Awards were presented as part of the National Mentoring Summit, MENTOR’s annual convening that brings together more than 2,000 experts, practitioners, advocates and philanthropic partners to advance mentoring nationwide. The Summit closes out National Mentoring Month, celebrated each January to focus national attention on the value of mentoring to build meaningful, lasting relationships for young people and adults alike.

MENTOR Chief Impact Officer Tim Wills says, “By recognizing these outstanding champions of the mentoring movement, we call attention to the many ways we can show up for our young people today. We thank our awardees for being leaders in creating connections and pathways for young people, and for inspiring others to do the same.”